Delivery and dispatch (Mindcat Dispatch)

UAE

Paying a courier per drop and waiting a week for cash? Count your drops before hiring

By Shivanath DevinarayananPublished 7 min read
Written forOperations or sales lead at a mid-market UAE business“Leads go cold before anyone replies.”

The short answer

Should a Dubai shop hire its own delivery riders or pay a courier per drop?

Stay on a courier while your drops are few, spread out or irregular. Take your own rider when his monthly cost, divided by the courier's all-in price per drop (rate plus cash on delivery fee), is a drop count you reliably fill in a tight area. At Mindcat, we make you count first.

A shop counter with a rider's helmet, a courier parcel, a cash envelope and a calculator under the words count drops first

Takeaways

  1. 01A courier's price per drop is its delivery rate plus its cash on delivery fee, and your cash waits for its payout.
  2. 02Three published rider break-evens run from about 12 drops a day to 80 to 100 orders a day.
  3. 03Count drops per rider-hour on your own routes. One guide puts the line at three to four drops an hour.
  4. 04Below three riders, a courier plus a nightly cash count is enough. A dispatch board starts at three drivers.

If you pay a courier per drop and wait a week for your cash on delivery, this is for you. The choice between your own riders and a courier comes down to arithmetic you can do this afternoon. This is not for you if you make a few drops a day and take no cash on delivery. A courier is cheaper than a rider for you, and you can stop here.

What does a courier cost you per drop?

More than its rate card. Three UAE couriers state their terms on their own pages, and each adds a cash on delivery (COD) fee to the delivery rate.

CourierDelivery rateCOD feeCash payout
MaxCommerceFrom AED 18 up to 5 kg, plus VAT2.5% of the cash collected, on top of the delivery rate
swftboxAED 16 an order on the delivery-only plan2.9%
QuiqupPer its fees schedule of 5 February 20252.5% of the value collected

Put numbers on one drop. Take an AED 150 cash order with MaxCommerce: AED 18 plus 2.5 percent of AED 150 (AED 3.75) is AED 21.75, before VAT. With swftbox it is AED 16 plus AED 4.35, or AED 20.35. A returned order can cost more. Quiqup's schedule says an order returned to the sender is charged the full delivery fee.

A courier drop costs the delivery rate plus a 2.5 to 2.9 percent cash fee, and your cash waits for payout
One AED 150 cash order, priced all-in.

Then there is your cash. Say 30 cash orders a day at AED 150: that is AED 4,500 a day. If your courier pays out once a week, up to seven days of takings, AED 31,500, sit with the courier at the end of the cycle. That is arithmetic, not a market average. Your own number is your daily cash times the days in the courier's payout cycle.

What does your own rider cost?

Koriyar, a UAE courier platform, publishes a monthly cost for one rider on a motorbike. We read it on 20 October 2026: salary AED 2,935, fuel AED 440, commercial insurance AED 110, maintenance and tyres AED 165, a total of AED 3,650 a month. The visa, which it puts at AED 3,000 to 5,000 for a two-year UAE employment visa, adds roughly AED 200 to 350 a month and is not in that total. Sick days, public holidays and your own time managing the rider are not priced at all.

So plan on AED 3,850 to 4,000 a month for one rider, before the time you spend. Koriyar sells the other option, so read its costs as one seller's honest list, not a quote for your shop.

Why do published break-evens disagree?

Because each one assumes a different rider, a different courier price and a different day. Here are three, each from a seller of something else.

SourceRider cost a monthCourier priceBreak-even stated
Koriyar, 17 July 2026AED 3,650From AED 14 a stop
Koriyar, 12 August 2026Not statedNot stated
EvolvX, 8 June 2026AED 2,200 to 3,200AED 15 to 25 on demand

Even one vendor disagrees with itself. Koriyar's 261 deliveries a month is about 12 a day over 22 working days. Its other guide, less than four weeks later, says 80 to 100 orders a day. That is about 7 times higher, and not a rounding difference. It is a sign that no single number travels from one shop to another.

What they share is a formula: a rider's full monthly cost, divided by the courier's all-in price per drop. The formula gives you drops a month. It does not tell you whether you can fill those drops on a rider's route.

How do you work out your own break-even?

In three steps, from your own papers. This is our rule of thumb, not a study.

  1. 01Price one drop at the courier. Add the delivery rate and the COD fee on your average cash order. Use the all-in figure.
  2. 02Price one rider. Take AED 3,850 to 4,000 as the starting point from Koriyar's list, or your own payroll figure, and divide it by step 1. That is the drops a month you need.
  3. 03Count drops per rider-hour on a real day. Take the drops you could hand one rider in one area, divided by the hours he rides.

A worked example, arithmetic only. At AED 21.75 a drop and AED 3,850 a month, the sum is about 177 drops a month. Over 22 working days that is 8 drops a day. It sounds low. It is not the answer, because a rider you pay for a full day must be busy for the day. Shopappy, a guide for independent retailers, says own drivers become competitive once density is "reliably above roughly three to four drops per hour". Its source is a US guide, so use it as a method, not as a Dubai figure. At three drops an hour, a rider on an eight-hour day does 24. If you can fill that in one area, a rider wins. If your 8 drops a day are spread across four emirates, he spends the day in traffic and the courier wins.

Three steps: price a courier drop, price a rider, then count drops per rider-hour
The sum, in three steps.

When should you stay on a courier?

Stay when your drops are few, spread out or irregular. Those three words are the test.

  • Few: under the drops a month from step 2 of the sum.
  • Spread out: your drops sit in several areas, so a rider covers less than three an hour.
  • Irregular: a Friday rush and a quiet Tuesday. A courier is a per-drop cost, and a rider is a cost on every day he does not ride.
Stay on a courier when drops are few, spread out or irregular; hire when they are enough, tight and steady
Which side are you on?

The cost of staying is the float. If your cash waits a week at the courier, ask for the payout schedule in writing and for the fee on returns. Quiqup states both in its fees schedule. For the others, ask, because neither is in a headline price.

What changes at three riders?

Cash. With a courier you get a statement per parcel. With your own riders the cash comes back in envelopes and the question becomes which rider is AED 120 short.

Below three riders you do not need software. Fix one WhatsApp message per handover, charge each cash order to the rider who took it, and count his cash every night. If the count stays right for two weeks, you did not have a software problem.

From three riders,

a dispatch board keeps each order, rider, proof and cash on one screen.
On our page, cash is recorded per order, each driver's total is there before the van is back, and the app asks for a photo, signature or code before an order is closed when proof is required. The same board serves couriers and delivery firms and retail and e-commerce shops with their own riders. For a shop that is also choosing between a tracker and a board, our earlier post sets out how to tell which loss you have.

Here is what our page says today. It is AED or SAR 119 per driver a month for the first 10 drivers on the shared plan, which we host in the UAE, with a minimum of 3 drivers, so AED 357 a month. Ten drivers come to AED 1,190. Dispatchers, admins and finance users are free. Setup is a one-time AED or SAR 7,500 up to 10 drivers, and it is done with us. There is no self-serve start. WhatsApp and SMS messages, Google Maps and payment gateway fees are billed at cost, outside the driver price. Prices exclude 5 percent UAE VAT and 15 percent Saudi VAT.

With one or two riders, do not buy it. The minimum is three for a reason: below that, the nightly count is cheaper than the software.

What happens in the first morning?

We spend one morning with you and your dispatcher. We map how orders, riders and cash move today, in Arabic or English. After that you get a written plan, the go-live date and the monthly price. We call it WhatsApp to dispatch board. If your sum says to stay on a courier, we will tell you so. If it says three or more riders, tell us your fleet size and we reply with the plan and the price.

Filed under

Delivery and dispatch (Mindcat Dispatch)own delivery riders vs courier dubaicash on delivery courier uaein-house delivery vs outsourcing uaedelivery rider cost dubai
Useful to someone on your team?

FAQ

Questions teams ask next

How many deliveries a day make hiring a rider worth it in Dubai?
No single number is right. Koriyar, a UAE courier platform, puts a rider's direct cost at AED 3,650 a month and the break-even at 261 deliveries a month against AED 14 a drop, or 300 to 350 once visa and other costs are counted (its page, 17 July 2026). Divide your own rider's cost by your courier's all-in price per drop, and then check you have that many drops in a tight area.
What does a courier charge for cash on delivery in the UAE?
Three UAE couriers state their fee on their own pages. Quiqup lists 2.5 percent of the value collected (fees schedule dated 5 February 2025), MaxCommerce 2.5 percent on top of the delivery rate, and swftbox 2.9 percent. Quiqup also states that COD payments are made once a week. Prices change, so confirm the current terms in writing.
How long does a courier take to pay out cash on delivery?
It depends on the courier. Quiqup's fees schedule says COD payments are made once a week and COD reconciliation takes place every 2 weeks. Koriyar says its own platform remits within 24 to 48 hours, and that traditional couriers typically settle on a weekly cycle. Ask for the payout schedule before you sign.
Do I need delivery software with one or two riders?
Usually not. With one or two riders, one fixed WhatsApp message per handover and a cash count each night can do the job. Mindcat Dispatch has a minimum of 3 drivers, so it is built for the shop with three or more.
What does Mindcat Dispatch cost?
AED or SAR 119 per driver a month for the first 10 drivers on the shared plan we host in the UAE, with a minimum of 3 drivers (AED 357 a month). Setup is a one-time AED or SAR 7,500 up to 10 drivers, done with us. WhatsApp and SMS messages, Google Maps and payment gateway fees are billed at cost. Prices exclude 5 percent UAE VAT and 15 percent Saudi VAT.

Sources

  1. 01Koriyar: Outsource vs in-house delivery in the UAE for small sellers (17 July 2026)Accessed 20 Oct 2026
  2. 02Koriyar: Delivery in the UAE, a guide for small sellers (12 August 2026)Accessed 20 Oct 2026
  3. 03EvolvX: WhatsApp ordering for restaurants in Dubai (8 June 2026)Accessed 20 Oct 2026
  4. 04Quiqup: Services and fees schedule, self-service (5 February 2025)Accessed 20 Oct 2026
  5. 05MaxCommerce: Cash on delivery in the UAEAccessed 20 Oct 2026
  6. 06swftbox: PricingAccessed 20 Oct 2026
  7. 07Shopappy: Local delivery for independent retailers (September 2026)Accessed 20 Oct 2026
  8. 08Mindcat Dispatch: prices, cash on delivery and proof of delivery (live page)Accessed 20 Oct 2026
Shivanath Devinarayanan, founder of Mindcat

Written by

Shivanath Devinarayanan

Founder, Mindcat Consulting · Salesforce MVP Hall of Fame

Runs 200+ agents in production. Reads every brief that comes in and signs the work that goes out.

About Shivanath

Mindcat Dispatch · the written assessment

We work in real estate and right now, leads go cold before anyone replies.

Industry
Problem

Brief: Real estate. Leads from portals and WhatsApp. Follow-up has no owner. An agent on a named process. A reviewer on the exceptions. From: /blog/own-riders-or-courier-dubai.