Slack

US · UAE · Global

If you couldn't say who stops Slackbot writing to Salesforce, start here.

By Shivanath DevinarayananPublished 12 min read
Written forCIO, CISO, or compliance lead who approves agents on real systems“Who acted, and can we stop it?”

The short answer

What should a Slack admin act on from Slack's October 2026 admin update?

One setting and two dates matter most. Before Slackbot opens inside Salesforce, decide which records it may create or update, because Slack allows it by default. Older Slack apps, systems and browsers lose support on 9 November 2026, and the Windows .exe installer goes after March 2027. At Mindcat, we set the write default before anyone opens it.

A manager at a CRM record with a chat panel and a glowing confirm button, under the words Writes on by default

Takeaways

  1. 01To stop Slackbot writing to one Salesforce org, set Allow Slackbot to create and update records to Not allowed.
  2. 02Before a pilot, make one change through Slackbot in a sandbox and check what Field History shows as the actor.
  3. 03On 9 November 2026 desktop app 4.47.59 and below and mobile app 25.10.50 and below stop working until upgraded.
  4. 04Slackbot inside Salesforce answers within each person's Salesforce permissions, but it can create or update records by default.
  5. 05The Enterprise IP allowlist signs people out at once if they connect from an address outside it.

What did Slack change for admins in October?

If you couldn't say today who stops Slackbot writing to your Salesforce org, and how fast, this is for you. Slack's October 2026 admin email lists fifteen new things and two dates. Most of it can wait. One default and two dates can't. If nothing writes to your Salesforce from Slack yet, skip the Slackbot sections; the dates, the IP allowlist and passkeys still apply.

The default: when Slackbot is connected to a Salesforce org, Slack's help says it can create or update records unless an admin limits it. The October admin list includes Slackbot inside Salesforce Lightning (Slack's What's new page dates it to the September feature drop), so that setting now reaches people who never open Slack. The dates: on 9 November 2026 older Slack apps, operating systems and browsers lose support, and after March 2027 the Windows .exe installer is gone.

Slack's October 2026 admin update in four groups: Slackbot, security, everyday Slack, and two dates
What is on the October list.

Two cautions. Plan names below are written exactly as Slack writes them (Business+ v2, Enterprise+, Enterprise plans), because the same feature differs by plan. And these features are days old: we have not run them in a client workspace yet, so where we only have Slack's word, we say so.

If you are still choosing which Slack plan your controls need, our Slack security page lists what we check before you sign.

What can Slackbot change inside Salesforce?

More than most admins expect, and this is the setting to decide first. Slack's October list says Slackbot now works inside Salesforce Lightning, with answers scoped to the record being viewed and data access following each member's own Salesforce permissions. Its What's new page says this is included in Business+ and Enterprise+ plans, and available to other plans through Flex Credits.

The belief to break: "it only sees what the person sees" is true, and it is about reading. Writing is a different setting. Slack's help page for connected Salesforce orgs says, word for word, "By default, Slackbot can create or update records." Admins can allow record actions only for some objects, for all objects except excluded ones, or not at all. A separate October setting limits Slackbot to fields on the record layout instead of any field the member can edit. Slack also says members are always asked to review and approve before a change is made.

Slackbot in Salesforce reads what the person can see, and creates or updates records by default
Reads follow the person. Writes follow your setting.
Slack screenshot: Slackbot in a side panel on a Salesforce opportunity, asking to confirm an update to the record
Slackbot in Lightning, with Cancel and Confirm on a record change. Image: Slack, from its What's new page.

A person approving each change is a real control, but it is a click, and a busy rep clicks. The admin setting decides which records can be offered for that click at all. Setup, from Slack's help, in the order we would run it. If the org is already connected, check the record-action setting today, before anything else:

  1. 01Connect the Salesforce org to Slack and map users who don't yet have Salesforce access in Slack.
  2. 02In Slack, set which Salesforce objects Slackbot may create or update, and whether it may edit only layout fields, before anyone can use it.
  3. 03Turn on Slackbot in Slack's AI settings (included on Business+ and Enterprise+). On Free or Pro, or beyond the Business+ weekly limit, metered use bills against Flex Credits once a Salesforce admin approves it.
  4. 04In Salesforce, add the Slackbot UI permission to a permission set and assign it to a named pilot group first.

Step 3 is ours to move earlier. Slack's pages list it as a setting you can change at any time. We put it before anyone gets the permission set, because the people who use Slackbot in Lightning may never see Slack's admin settings at all. If Slackbot also reaches Salesforce through MCP servers, Enterprise Grid and Enterprise+ admins can set read-only and write tools separately per server. Check those too.

How do you stop it, and who shows as the actor?

Four switches, from the narrowest to the widest, all from Slack's help pages. Write them into your incident runbook before the pilot, with the name of the person who holds each one.

To stopWhereSet it to
Record writes in one Salesforce orgAdmin, Manage Salesforce organizations, the org, Settings, Allow Slackbot to create and update recordsNot allowed
All Slackbot access to that org's dataSame Settings tab, Allow Slackbot to access data from this organizationOff
A Salesforce MCP server and its toolsWorkspace settings, Salesforce, Salesforce MCP ServersDelete; Slack says access ends immediately
Slackbot for peopleFeature access, AI, SlackbotNo one (Enterprise orgs can also pick specific people and groups)

The second question is who acted. Slack says Slackbot works within each person's Salesforce permissions, and that the member approves each change. Slack's pages we read do not say what Salesforce's Field History or Setup Audit Trail records as the actor for a change made through Slackbot: the member, an integration user, or something else. We have not confirmed it. So the pilot starts with one test: in a sandbox, make one change through Slackbot, then read the record's field history and note what it shows. If you can't tell an agent's write from a person's, you know that before the pilot, not after an incident. Our kill switch guide covers the same two questions for agents in general.

For UAE customer data, one more question goes to your Salesforce account team before meeting summaries or Slackbot answers touch it: where they are generated and stored. We confirm data residency per plan before you sign, and we don't assume it.

What stops working on 9 November?

Old app versions, and the people still on them. Slack updates its system requirements every May and November. Its support lifecycle page lists what reaches end of support on 9 November 2026:

WhatVersions that lose supportWhat happens
Slack desktop app4.47.59 and belowUpgrade prompt; no Slack until upgraded
Slack mobile app (iOS and Android)25.10.50 and belowUpgrade prompt; no Slack until upgraded
macOS13 and belowWorks on a supported app, no app updates
iOS17 and belowWorks on a supported app, no app updates
Android11 and belowWorks on a supported app, no app updates
Chrome and Edge142 and belowBlocked in that browser
Firefox144 and belowBlocked in that browser
9 November 2026: older apps, systems and browsers lose support. March 2027: the Windows .exe installer goes, deploy MSIX
The two dates.

The row that hurts is the app version. Slack's page says a person on an unsupported desktop or mobile app version gets a prompt to upgrade and can't use Slack until they do. That lands on the people who never restart their laptop, and on shared or kiosk devices nobody owns. On Enterprise plans, Slack's help describes an admin dashboard export of members on unsupported app, OS and browser versions. Pull it this week and send the list to whoever manages devices.

What does the Windows installer change mean?

Nothing for machines that already run Slack, and a change of package for new ones. Slack's admin email says the legacy Squirrel-based .exe installer leaves the download page after March 2027 and gets no new releases. Existing installations keep working and auto-updating. New deployments should use the MSIX package, which Slack's Deploy Slack for Windows page offers for Windows 10 and 11, ARM and 64-bit.

The work sits with whoever builds your laptop images. If a setup script or device management policy still downloads the .exe, switch it now while both exist. Slack already retired its MSI installers on 15 September 2025, per its feature retirements page, so a team that moved then may have nothing left to do.

What do meeting insights write to Salesforce?

Tasks. This one is for Slack CRM on the new Business+ plan. Slack says upcoming external meetings now show on the CRM Agenda and the record's activity timeline. After the call, Slack writes an AI call summary with action items, and the action items turn into Salesforce tasks. Slack says it works with Google Calendar for now.

External meeting on Google Calendar, shows on the CRM Agenda, call summary, action items become Salesforce tasks
How a meeting becomes Salesforce tasks.
Slack screenshot: the Slack CRM Agenda with today's meetings, follow-up items from an intro call, and a meeting panel
The CRM Agenda. Image: Slack, from its What's new page.

Know which product this is before you plan around it. Slack's help says Slack CRM is set up by a Workspace Owner for up to 100 members and stores its data in a new Salesforce Free Edition org. It is built for small teams that have no Salesforce yet. We have not seen Slack document meeting insights for a full Sales Cloud org connected to Slack, so if you run one, ask your Salesforce account team before you promise it to sales. For a small Dubai brokerage weighing Slack CRM against a full Salesforce org, our real estate CRM guide sets out where each fits.

Either way, a call summary that creates tasks is a write. Decide who owns the tasks it creates, and whether they need a person's review before a manager reports on them.

Should you switch on the IP allowlist and passkeys?

The allowlist, only after a dry run. Slack's help says Org Owners and Org Admins on Enterprise plans can set approved IP ranges, such as an office or an approved VPN, and block every other address. Slack's admin email adds org-level defaults with workspace-level overrides. The same help page carries the warning that matters: "Adding an allowlist will sign people out immediately if they're accessing Slack from other IP addresses."

A building's front desk at dawn with a visitor log, a desk bell and a key board with two empty hooks
Decide who gets in before you change the lock. Illustration.

Our reading, not Slack's: before you save, list every place your people open Slack from. Each office, each VPN exit address, and the people who use a phone on mobile data when they travel. Anyone not on that list is signed out the moment it goes live. For a team split across UAE, India and US desks, that list is longer than it looks. Start with one workspace using the override, then the org.

Passkeys are simpler. Members sign in with a fingerprint, Face ID or device PIN, and manage passkeys from their account settings. Slack's October email lists Pro and Business+; its changelog says Free, Pro and Business+ workspaces. Neither lists Enterprise plans, where sign-in usually runs through your own single sign-on.

What can the new Slackbot analytics tell you?

Which tools and MCP servers people actually use. Slack says admins can now see per-tool and per-MCP-server usage in the Slackbot analytics dashboard, and that owners, admins and Analytics Admins can ask Slackbot directly about channels, apps, workflows, huddles and Slackbot itself. Slack's dashboard help lists Slackbot analytics on Business+ and Enterprise plans: messages to Slackbot, skills used and created, tool uses, and MCP server uses with a top 10 of each.

Slack screenshot: the Skills admin dashboard listing skills with category, sharing, total uses and members using them
The Skills admin dashboard, with sample data. Image: Slack, from its What's new page.

Use it as a monthly check, not a vanity count, and not as an inventory. Usage numbers and a top 10 show what people use, not which servers can write, and a write-capable server nobody uses yet won't appear. For the inventory, open Workspace settings, Salesforce, Salesforce MCP Servers, and check each server's write tool setting; use the analytics to decide which to look at first. A server in the top 10 that nobody approved is the finding.

What else changed?

The rest is small or plan-specific. In Slack's words, condensed:

ChangePlan, as Slack lists itWhat to do
Skills attached to surfaces, and comments on a sectionBusiness+ v2, Enterprise+Nothing to set; tell surface builders
Apps page in Slackbot Big Mode for MCP app connectionsBusiness+ v2, Enterprise+Nothing to set
Add myself as app collaborator from the admin dashboardEnterprise plansUse it instead of asking the app owner
Org Settings page grouped into sectionsEnterprise plansSettings unchanged; update internal how-to links
Channels auto-sorted into sidebar sections on joinNot statedAdmins can switch it off under Feature Access, Sidebar
Work object previews show live contentNot statedPartners named: Gamma, Atlassian, Box, Amplitude, Anthropic
Focus mode starts with a Google Calendar focus blockNot statedMember preference
Unread marker on threads, new system message lookNot statedNothing to set

Two of these touch admins. Auto-sorted channels changes what every member's sidebar looks like after they join a channel, so decide before the questions arrive whether to leave it on. Work object previews now run as embedded previews from partner apps, and Slack's What's new page says admins control access org-wide or by workspace. Treat each partner as an app review.

What would we do first?

The dates have deadlines and the default has a trigger: set it before anyone gets the Slackbot permission set, whatever the date. Our order below is our judgement, not Slack's.

Our order: check versions before 9 November, set what Slackbot may write, open Slackbot in Salesforce, IP allowlist, MSIX
Our order, our judgement.

Our order for the October update

  1. This week

    Export members on unsupported versions and send the list to device management

  2. Before 9 Nov

    Desktop app above 4.47.59, mobile app above 25.10.50, browsers updated

  3. Before Lightning

    Set which objects Slackbot may create or update, and layout fields only

  4. Pilot

    Assign the Slackbot permission set to one named group, review its changes after two weeks

  5. Then

    IP allowlist dry run on one workspace, with every office and VPN address listed

  6. Before March 2027

    New Windows builds on MSIX

Dates from Slack's support lifecycle page and admin email. The order is ours.

We run our own approvals and handoffs in Slack, connected to Salesforce, so the Slackbot write setting is the one we look at first on any connected org. The approvals we run in Slack show what that connection carries day to day.

This is not for a team with no Salesforce org connected to Slack and no agent writing to a real system yet. For you, the Slackbot sections can wait. Start with the version table under "What stops working on 9 November?", then the IP allowlist and passkeys.

Next step: use the form at /contact/run-on-slack and tell us which Salesforce org your Slack connects to (or that none does yet) and who owns it. You hear back within 24 hours from the person who signs the work, with a written note, not a demo: the ten Slack use cases that fit your work, what to build first, and what to leave alone. That note is our Pick your ten. If your Slack already connects to Salesforce, the note starts with the Slackbot write setting: who owns it and how to stop it. Licences come from Salesforce today. We help you pick the plan and work with your Salesforce account team.

Related reading: Run the Work in Slack, Slack use cases, and Slack security.

Filed under

Slackslackbot in salesforceslack ip allowlistslack msixslack end of supportslack release notes
Useful to someone on your team?

FAQ

Questions teams ask next

Will Slack stop working for some people on 9 November 2026?
For some, yes. Slack's support lifecycle page says a desktop or mobile app version that is no longer supported prompts the person to upgrade, and they can't use Slack until they do. An unsupported browser blocks Slack in that browser. An older operating system keeps working with a supported app version but gets no app updates.
Do existing Windows installs break after March 2027?
No. Slack's admin update says existing Slack installations keep working and auto-updating. After March 2027 the legacy Squirrel-based .exe file is no longer on Slack's download page and gets no new releases, so new deployments should use the MSIX package from Slack's Deploy Slack for Windows page.
Can Slackbot in Salesforce see records a person can't?
Slack says no. Its help page says Slackbot includes Salesforce data only as each person's Salesforce permissions allow. Writes are a separate question: by default Slackbot can create or update records, and admins choose the objects, limit edits to layout fields, or switch record actions off. Members review and approve each change.
Which plans get the IP allowlist and passkeys?
Slack's help page lists the IP allowlist for Enterprise plans, managed by Org Owners and Org Admins. For passkeys, Slack's October admin email says Pro and Business+, and its changelog says Free, Pro and Business+ workspaces. Neither lists Enterprise plans. Check the setting in your own workspace.
Where do the Slack licences come from?
Licences come from Salesforce today. We help you pick the plan and work with your Salesforce account team. Our part is deciding which Slack and Salesforce settings to change, in what order, and what to build first, then writing it down so your admin can run it.

Sources

  1. 01Slack Help: Slack updates and changes (changelog)Accessed 16 Oct 2026
  2. 02Slack: What's new (September 2026 feature drop)Accessed 16 Oct 2026
  3. 03Slack Help: Slack support lifecycle for operating systems, app versions, and browsersAccessed 16 Oct 2026
  4. 04Slack Help: Deploy Slack for WindowsAccessed 16 Oct 2026
  5. 05Slack Help: Set up Slackbot in SalesforceAccessed 16 Oct 2026
  6. 06Slack Help: Work with Slackbot in SalesforceAccessed 16 Oct 2026
  7. 07Slack Help: Manage Slackbot access to connected Salesforce organizationsAccessed 16 Oct 2026
  8. 08Slack Help: Set up and manage Slack CRMAccessed 16 Oct 2026
  9. 09Slack Help: Manage access to Slack with IP allowlistsAccessed 16 Oct 2026
  10. 10Slack Help: Sign in to Slack (passkeys)Accessed 16 Oct 2026
  11. 11Slack Help: Understand the data in your Slack analytics dashboardAccessed 16 Oct 2026
  12. 12Slack Help: Use focus mode in SlackAccessed 16 Oct 2026
Shivanath Devinarayanan, founder of Mindcat

Written by

Shivanath Devinarayanan

Founder, Mindcat Consulting · Salesforce MVP Hall of Fame

Runs 200+ agents in production. Reads every brief that comes in and signs the work that goes out.

About Shivanath

Run the Work in Slack · the written assessment

We work in real estate and right now, the AI pilot never left the sandbox.

Industry
Problem

Brief: Real estate. Leads from portals and WhatsApp. Follow-up has no owner. Stalled AI or Salesforce pilot. Need a finish, cut, or rebuild call. From: /blog/slack-october-admin-updates.